Thursday, March 3, 2011

that wonderful f-stop...

I am in week 4 of Mastering the Manual Mode with my DSLR. This week we are delving into the aperture priority mode. The aperture is the opening in the lens and it determines how much light will enter your camera's sensor. The lower the number, the wider the opening and hence a shallow depth of field. The higher the number, the smaller the opening and the sharper the backround.

There are 8 full f-stops on most cameras: f/1.4, 2.0, 2.8, 4.0, 5.6, 8.0, 11.0, and 16.0. Our assignment was to photograph a subject using each f-stop in the aperture priority mode.

This was a fun assignment because it is my favorite mode to shoot in. I just love shooting that dreamy, soft backround. It gives each photo such a romantic feel. This Christmas Santa brought me a new 50mm 2.8 compact macro lens. This lens lets me get a super close up image and achieve that soft backround.

In the first set of photos, I used the three lower f-stops. In the second set, I used the three higher. The difference is amazing. There is no right or wrong f-stop to use, it is just the look you want to achieve. This assignment allowed us to see the difference side by side.

I think this is enough of the technical jargon...just enjoy the photos!


No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for your kind words. I enjoy reading each and every comment!

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.